830-456-9326
Image may be subject to copyright
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
Guests
Guests (6 & above)
Children (6 & above)
Pets
Cabin Type
BOOK NOW

The Woods Cabin Reviews
-Fredericksburg, Texas-

March 2020

Thank you for an amazing stay!! Your hospitality & kindness made this time (corona virus pandemic) a lot less scary!! Love this place! See you all soon. Josh & Elizabeth – Laredo, TX

We had so much fun! Great place, so neat! We loved the eggs & animals. Thank you for all! Amy & Taylor – Lubbock, TX


This is exactly what we needed! An absolutely peaceful & wonderful few days in a quiet, beautiful cabin. We needed an escape from Austin & could not have picked a better spot. Drinking coffee on the back patio as the sun came up was magnificent. Our dog – Tucker – was very skeptical of the cows, but grew to tolerate them by the time we left. LOL!! Thank you for providing this wonderful spot. The breakfast food was delicious. We plan to come back many times & others have! Thanks again! Nick & Haleigh & Tucker – Austin, TX


December 2019

Our 4th time here & as always absolutely perfect! The Christmas lights on the deck were a great touch. This year the deer came up close to the front of the cabin & was a treat to see as we ate breakfast. Thank you for always making our trip here so comforting & all the details in the cabin. See you next year, God willing. Robert & Nelda – Portland, TX

Lovely cabin, very comfortable & cozy. Thanks for breakfast & all the attention to detail – noted & very much appreciated. Clyde & Mary – Santa Fe, TX – celebrating our 44th anniversary. P.S. the Rooster is a little flat, needs a tune-up!!


Thank you so much for the peaceful & restful getaway. We really needed to unplug & getaway from work demands. The fur babies did real good on their first trip away & we appreciate your pet policy. Thanks again & we will be seeing you again! God's Blessings. Natalie & Dennis – Riesel, TX


Thanks so much for our relaxing stay in "THE WOODS". It gave us what we needed....time of quiet away from the busy pace of life. We wish you guys the best & we hope to be back soon! Jon & Shelly – Magnolia, TX


November 2019

Thank you so much for your hospitality. This is such a relaxing, beautiful place. The breakfast was great! We have been here before & we will definitely be back. Thank you, Christy & Shawn


Thanks so much for the wonderful stay. The Woods cabin is definitely one for the books. The view is amazing & breathtaking. Thank you for making it extra special with the home-made "decadence" for our 12th anniversary. We will definitely be coming back. Kim & Daniel


October 2019

We had a wonderful 5-night stay & a wonderful time! We enjoyed 4 different national/state parks, hiking & visited Fredericksburg. We loved Alamo Springs Cafe & seeing the bats emerge at the Old Tunnel State Park. We had everything we needed & the view was amazing. Just sitting on the porch was so relaxing. A perfect place to relax & recharge. Loved feeding the apples to Cowboy the horse. Thank you for the fresh fruit & granola for breakfast. Shannon & Syed – Houston, TX


September 2019

Thank you Carl & Rhonda for your southern hospitality! We truly enjoyed our stay in The Woods cabin. Everything was perfect & the breakfast goodies made it even more special. We could not thank you enough & can't wait to come back! Many blessings! Monique & Bobbie – Houston, TX


Thank you so much for making our stay so wonderful! So quaint & relaxing. From the cleanliness to the farm fresh goodies to the gorgeous view! What a great find, can't wait to come back! Brian & Kimberly


Thank you a million times. Our anniversary was the absolute best. This place was amazing & so gorgeous. Until next time. Kelsy & Javier


August 2019

Thank y'all so much! We enjoyed our short stay & the fresh local goodies! Tom & Coty & Furbabies: Lil Bit & Rowdy


We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Our favorite things were: coffee on the deck with the pups while we watched the sunrise, introducing our pups to the cows! Everything we needed was here – so comfortable & relaxing! Thank You! Rich, Chris, Remington & Dawson


Thank you for such an amazing experience!! We are thinking about going back to Huntington Beach to get some "Take-O's" (LOL). You both are awesome & we cannot wait to visit again!! Andrew & Chante – Round Rock, TX


We have really enjoyed our stay here. Carl & Rhonda are truly great people. We are talking about coming again in the winter. We have really enjoyed all the hospitality. Our fur babies enjoyed the stay also. ‘Til next time. Thanks for everything. Sayed, Vicky, Rocky & Samantha – Magnolia, TX


July 2019

Thank you so much for the hospitality. We enjoyed our stay & definitely plan on coming back in the near future. Carl & Rhonda were so accommodating, we appreciated you letting our son feed the cows (Sully is his favorite)! Even our bulldog "Titus" had no complaints. Andy, Susan, Ryland & Titus – Corpus Christi, TX


Thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin with us. We had many deer visit us during our stay. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast, too. We will definitely tell everyone about our experience. We will be back. Steve & Kim – Midlothian, TX


Once again, a wonderful visit to Walnut Canyon Cabins. We really enjoyed your hospitality & the breakfast fixin's were perfect! You are perfect hosts! Bill & Delbra – Lake Livingston, TX


What a lovely place with a peaceful, picturesque view from the deck. Thank you Carl & Rhonda for providing everything we needed for a wonderful respite. We will definitely be back. Jim & Sandy – San Angelo, TX


June 2019

This was a spur of the moment trip & my husband & I love it! So peaceful & homey. Thank you so much for everything. Penny & Tip – Clyde, TX


This is a lovely & peaceful cabin. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Thank you for a clean & beautiful space to relax. Wendell & Lynette – Allen, TX


Thank you for the wonderful stay. You thought of everything. We loved the view & the peacefulness that came with it. It was the perfect spot for our 44th anniversary! God bless. Craig & Gwenda – Tomball, TX


Our stay in The Woods cabin was wonderful. We spent so much time on the back porch – the view is incredible! Everything in the cabin was great, & the bed was SO comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast. You are such terrific hosts! Thank you for the warm welcome. We will definitely be back. Kyle & Linda – Coppell, TX


May 2019

Thank you so much for making our vacation such a memorable one! The view from the Woods Cabin is simply spectacular!!! We could spend our entire life on the patio. We greatly appreciated all the amenities, especially the dog treats, that was so thoughtful of you. This place is truly a gem. And your hospitality is a rare thing to see nowadays. We will be back again FOR SURE! Craig & Jalashree – Cypress, TX


Carl & Rhonda, Keep doing what you're doing. WE LOVED IT. Today is our 17th anniversary & we wouldn't have changed a thing. It's peaceful & beautiful here. Chester introduced himself to Barrett this morning – Loved That Rooster! We will definitely stay here again. God's blessings to you both. Barrett & Felicia – Terrell, TX


Visiting Texas for a Houston Memorial Weekend Family Wedding. Our side trip to San Antonio & the Texas Hill Country has been rewardingly worth it! But our stay at Walnut Canyon Cabins – the drive here, the comfort, & the view—was the olive to our Martini!! What a wonderful place!! We did get to meet Carl & Rhonda, the owners – so nice! Will try to visit again! Scott & Dorri – Vero Beach, Florida


My new husband & I celebrated our honeymoon for an entire week in the Woods Cabin. We loved it! The breakfast & views were amazing! We will be back!! The Rogers -Conroe, TX


Had a great time. Best view & so very peaceful stay. My cousin & I had a great time grilling. Rain on the tin roof was so relaxing. Wanted for NOTHING! Rhonda & Carl are great hosts. Plan on coming back. Thanks for the privacy, peace & quiet. THE BEST IN THE HILL COUNTRY. Alys & Charlotte -Austin, TX


The cabin was wonderful & having a great host & hostess mad our stay so much more fabulous. Loved all the amenities & the eggs & Canadian bacon with biscuits was a delight. Second trip to these cabins & loved this one. The Woods is cozy & we were here for 6 days – it felt like a home away from home. Best Vacation Ever!!! Sue & Lloyd – Pasadena, TX


April 2019

We had a wonderful time in the Woods Cabin. Thank you Carl & Rhonda for being such gracious hosts. The view from the patio is stunning! Loved the eggs & Canadian bacon – LOL – considering we are from Canada! Having stayed in numerous rustic cabins, it's refreshing to stay in a cabin so clean & well maintained. Also, your attention to detail – like the gourmet coffee. We'll be back! Lynda & Gary – Canada


Thank you for the wonderful place to stay. The view was beautiful, so relaxing & calming. The fresh eggs were delicious. Jim & Jana


We absolutely loved staying here! We love the privacy of each cabin & how relaxing it is here. You made our 10-yr anniversary extra special from the flowers, wine, chocolates – to a very peaceful time! We will be back soon! Happy Easter! Ryan & Cassandra – LaPorte, TX


Thank you for your hospitality. The cabin was so comfortable & home-like. You thought of everything. And The VIEW!! Awesome & relaxing. The perfect counterpoint to the previous night in San Antonio. And most of all Thank You for being "GREEN". Happy Earth Week! The Best! Marketa & Zane – Lebanon, Ohio


My parents stayed here & highly recommended it. We are glad we took their advice. It was a relaxing weekend with a beautiful view. Thank You, The Fagans


This is our first family vacation as a family of four. Our boys Daniel, age 4, & Sam, almost 2, have loved the cabin & chatting with the cows. The cabin is wonderful, & the views & wildlife make it all worth it. Thank you for all the breakfast items. We have thoroughly enjoyed our time & will cherish it. Jon, Robin, Daniel & Sam – Fort Worth, TX


Thank you for providing such a lovely cabin! We came to celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary. The cabin provided such a lovely, peaceful view. Everything was well thought out & taken care of in our stay. We feel lucky to have stayed here! Joe & Gina – Richardson, TX


March 2019

Absolutely loved this place! Breakfast – loved it! "The Rooster" – loved him! The view – loved, loved it! The drive out here – loved it! Enjoyed visiting with you & having a cold adult beverage. I'm scared of cows – but I got close enough to touch one cuz they are just too cute! Plan on making a return trip soon! We even went into town to buy some coffee & Canadian bacon we enjoyed here. We give y'all 5 stars! Jami & Eric – Port Lavaca, TX


This is our first time in Texas. What a wonderful state! Huge!! Thank you Rhonda & Carl for a great stay. The Woods Cabins was everything a relaxing stay should be plus much, much more! We fell in love with the Rooster. Joel & Diane – New Richmond, WI


This was our first time staying at these cabins & we had an amazing time. It was a perfect little getaway for a weekend. The cabin was cozy & the view was beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing this experience. Love, Grant & Taylor – Austin, TX


This was our second visit to your cabins & we were so pleased to get to spend our mini-honeymoon in this beautiful & comfortable setting. We even love the Rooster who we affectionately nick-named "Rick James" or "little Ricky" for short. Thank you to Carl & Rhonda for being such warm & welcoming hosts. Much love, Jodie & Justin – Hutto, TX


What a wonderful stay! A hilltop view in Texas, not what we are used to! Really enjoyed the quiet & the rooster's wake-up this am. Rustic buildings are inherently homey & this one was so comfortable, too! We will try to make it back on another of our travels. Thanks for the great breakfast! Del & Lexie – Grangeville, Idaho


This was a last minute decision but the best one we ever made! The kids had a great time & we were able to get away from it all. Wonderful hosts, wonderful cabin. We will certainly be back for more!! The Hunzekers – San Antonio, TX


Thank you for providing such a beautiful cabin retreat. The drive up here is stunning but the view from our cabin is even more so. The cabin itself is ridiculously cute & well-stocked. This was the perfect place to come to after hiking the Hill Country. As everyone has said, those chickens are laying some GOLDEN EGGS. I grew up eating eggs that gorgeous, but it stunned my husband! Thank you for the supporting local, sustainable food sources! Oh, & I love that y'all recycle. The Hendricks


We came to celebrate our 5th anniversary & had a wonderful time. Carl & Rhonda were the best hosts. At check-in Carl greeted us with a beer & glass of wine. He made us feel at home. We had our two dogs with us & they enjoyed the cows. Waking up to the rooster crowing & coffee on the porch was so relaxing. The farm-fresh eggs were delicious! We will definitely be coming back & telling our friends & family about this getaway. Paul & Kelcie – Leander, TX


Absolutely wonderful stay!! We came after getting married. The view was perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable, everything was clean! We will definitely be making Walnut Canyon Cabins our annual destination. Thank you Rhonda & Carl for your hospitality. You guys made our honeymoon everything we wanted & then some! Being able to make breakfast with the BEST yard eggs was the perfect touch! The Doyle's – Montgomery, TX


February 2019

Thank you Rhonda & Carl! We came for our 10 yr anniversary & our stay was perfect. The cabin was cozy, the view spectacular & we cannot wait to come back again & again. Thank y'all for being so welcoming & kind! The farm fresh eggs & Canadian bacon was amazing along with all the other breakfast goodies! We will be back & tell all of our friends & family. Thank y'all so much for making us feel at home here! Curtis & Dayna – San Antonio, TX


Thank you for a wonderful stay! The cabin was cute & cozy & the view was stunning! Next time we will come with our kids so they can see the cows & chickens! Thank you for the farm-fresh eggs & canadian bacon & fruit. It was delicious! We will be back soon! Rory & Alison – Georgetown, TX


January 2019

We have been coming here since 2016. We love it here so much that we have made this an annual getaway for us. We love the Woods Cabin, the patio, the breakfast, the view, etc. Thank you so much for your hospitality. God willing, we will be here next year. Robert & Nelda – Portland, TX


Thank you so much for opening your cabin to us! We had a lovely time & the perfect getaway. The view is stunning & the peace and quiet are hard to beat! Apologies for our dog, Stella, barking at the sweet cows, I think this was her first close encounter! We hope to return & coordinate a stay with a few friends! Loved it! Best, Eric & Alison & Stella


December 2018

This was our first visit to the cabins & we had such an amazing time. And the hospitality was beyond our expectations. The view from the porch was beautiful. Our family made some great memories this weekend!! Bella loved the dog treats! Brian, Falisha, Tyler & Bella – Sugar Land, TX


This is exactly what we needed. A beautiful, peaceful & relaxing place. The cabin is very thoughtfully decorated & equipped. Love the attention to details. We are in love with this place, wish we could stay forever. Thank you Rhonda & Carl you are truly great hosts. Dylan & Caroline – Fort Worth, TX


We had a wonderful weekend at the Woods Cabin. We loved the deck & the delicious breakfast. Your place is so peaceful & relaxing. Thanks for everything! Ann, Paul & Sukie – Austin, TX


November 2018

We had a very relaxing stay in the Texas Hill Country. Weather was great & the hospitality was wonderful! Thank You! Perie & Mike – Grand Island, NY


Thank you Carl & Rhonda for your hospitality & working so hard on finding us a couple's massage place. This was a cozy & peaceful anniversary for us & much needed recharge to re-fuel us. Can't wait to recommend this to our friends & family & possibly make this our family reunion spot in the future. Praying you guys have a great holiday season & Happy New Year. God Bless, Joseph & Julie – Decatur, TX


Thank you for thinking of everything to make our wine weekend with our best friends comfortable. We spent the evenings at the fire pit which was so enjoyable. Beautiful views. Doug & Jerri – Liberty Hill, TX


October 2018

I felt a sense of calm & peace the moment I stepped into The Woods cabin. Loved our time here & wished we could stay longer. Thank you for the good memory & hope to come back with our adult children someday. Roland & Shi Ling – California


We absolutely loved "The Woods". Perfect place to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We had fun in Fredericksburg & surrounding areas. The cabin was so clean & lovely. We will definitely be back! Phillip & Melissa – Sugar Land, TX


Enjoyed our time. This was the week of the rain, rain, rain. We saw many deer & goats! We will come back in the future, the accommodations were great. The coffee in the cabin was excellent. Best burger we ever ate at Alamo Springs Cafe! Debbie & Pat – Tyler, TX


First time here & had a great time. Very relaxing looking forward to the next time with the family. Adriana & Juan – Houston, TX


Enjoyed our visit! The hospitality was wonderful and the scenery is amazing. Looking forward to coming back for a relaxing visit and hope to bring extended family. Thanks, Jill & John


September 2018

Thank you for sharing your beautiful getaway with us. This was one of the best weekends we have had in a long time. Jean & Danny – Hamshire, TX


This was our 3rd trip to stay at Walnut Canyon Cabins & we enjoyed our time here this trip as much as the others. The breakfast goodies are delightful, the view can't be beat, & the deer are fun to watch. We were also able to see the bats go out for their nightly feed at the nearby Old Tunnel. We will certainly come again & we always recommend this place to others! Thank you Carl & Rhonda for being such great hosts! God Bless, Gary & Becki – Eustace, TX


We came to celebrate our 30th for a couple days, fell in love with the view & stayed 3 more days. Carl & Rhonda are the hosts with the most. So great at being ready to be at your disposal. Wonderful view in "The Woods", it's a cool cabin. God bless these fine folks. Thank you for our great time. Bobby & Gloria – Willis, TX


What a hidden gem! We really enjoyed our time at Walnut Canyon Cabins. We explored Fredericksburg and had a beer at Luckenbach. Thank you for having us. We look forward to reconnecting on our next visit. XO, Rob & Wendy – Plano, TX


August 2018

First time visit to Fredericksburg and Walnut Canyon Cabins. Beautiful views, quiet, peaceful. Did not even know there were others staying in the other cabins. Hosts were wonderful, truly cared about what we needed. They even purchased a single air-bed for our third guest the day before we came. We'll be back. Jim, Linda & Mike


Thank you Carl & Rhonda for providing such a terrific place to stay. We have enjoyed our stay. Thank you also for allowing our fur-baby to enjoy this with us! Rami especially loved the treats & we loved ours!! We come to Fredericksburg often & have found ‘our place'! Thank you! Kathryn & Bob & Rami – Vail, AZ


July 2018

My husband & I came here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Woods Cabin. Words cannot describe the view from the porch – absolutely AWESOME. It is so quiet & peaceful. This is a great place to escape too, from the stress of work life. Carl & Rhonda are great hosts. There was breakfast provided & even treats for our dog. Thanks a million for making our stay so wonderful. We had a wonderful time here. We will definitely be telling our friends & family about this place. We are definitely coming back. Steven & Dorothy – Serbin & Giddings, TX


We normally come to Fredericksburg each year to celebrate our Anniversary, 38th this year. This truly was the "Best Stay Ever". Carl & Rhonda met us at the door with a cold beer in h&. Truly great hostesses. We loved the cabin & the special touch with fresh breakfast goodies. We loved having the wildlife come so close to eat the corn. We even bought more corn to feed deer & turkeys. The hummingbirds were a special addition as well. We will definitely be back. Larry & Brenda – Malakoff, TX


We had a great stay in our cabin. The breakfast items were amazing along with the view on the back porch. This trip turned into a first of many for us. After all, he proposed to me Friday night on the back porch while we were looking at the stars. Thank you for your hospitality. We will be back. Patrick & Samantha – Jourdanton, TX


Thank you for a great place to come and relax. You are both delightful. The cabin was perfect; the food was perfect & you are the perfect hosts. We will see you again soon. Thank you so much! Wes & Terry – Fort Worth, TX


The Woods cabin was great. The view was breathtaking. The food was awesome. We have enjoyed every minute. We feel like we made some great friends along the way. Hated to leave this place for many reasons. We hope to come back here one day. Our friend and family will know all about this lovely place and great couple who owns it. Love, Sandy & Tom – Fort Worth, TX


May 2018

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was nice being greeted with a cold beer and friendly talk. The Woods Cabin has a beautiful view!! And all our needs were met and then some. Next time we are in the area we will definitely re-visit walnut Canyon Cabins. Also, Honey the Chihuahua, thank you for the treats!! Susan & Christi – Frost, TX


Such a wonderful relaxing time of renewal. We will certainly return & tell folks about your great place – although, maybe we will keep it a secret ‘cause then everyone will want to come! No, we will pass on the ‘good news' of a great "go to" place. Much continued success – God Bless, Randy & Sue – LaFeria, TX


This weekend has been AMAZING! The view is incredible! We had some rain, which I loved to listen to on the roof. Very relaxing weekend for us. We will recommend and return annually. The hospitality was incredible, as were the fresh eggs, fruit & Canadian bacon. Thank you for an awesome weekend! Brian & Donica – Georgetown, TX


April 2018

We had the perfect Weekend! The breakfast items gave us a chance to reconnect over a home cooked breakfast, something our busy lives had let go. The Woods was the best! Great view, cozy, and beautifully designed. We are definitely coming back. Art & Michelle – Dallas, TX


We came to celebrate our anniversary with two other couples also celebrating. It is very relaxing, loved the view. We appreciate the farm eggs & bacon, the Woods cabin was perfect just enough for me and my husband. I will recommend to my friends and family about Walnut Canyon Cabins. We would like to try next time the Rocky Top Cabin with my family. Appreciate you and Thanks! Raul & Lisa – Navasota, TX


We came here 3 years ago and stayed in the Rocky Top. We really enjoyed it.This time we stayed in the Woods. Still need to make this a minimum of a yearly trip. It is so relaxing and quiet here. The perfect way to feel as if you actually got some time away from work and the busyness of daily lives! Thank you for your hospitality! We will be back soon! Leesa & Jerry & Porky – Midland, TX


March 2018

We did so much this weekend! We challenged ourselves and overcame many things in our activities! The cabin was the perfect place to feel at home away from home! Thank y'all! Shania & Matthew


A very good week for riding motorcycles thru the Hill Country. Cabin was great! Awesome sunrises! Thank you for the hospitality! Terry & LeeAnn – Searcy, AR

Had a very relaxing time! It was very much needed, especially for the hubby. Views Are Awesome!!! You guys are amazing and very helpful! Thank you for everything! We will definitely be back! Linda & Travis – Rockwall, TX


Nice visit – as always! Enjoyed the horse-shoe pit. Until next time, Brandon & Amy – Nederland, TX


We had a relaxing weekend at the Walnut Canyon Cabins. Time went way too fast. We wanted to venture outdoors more, but the weather didn't cooperate. We enjoyed shopping & going to wine tastings on main street. We love that we were able to bring our fur-babies: Drake & Marley. They loved their treats that Carl & Rhonda left for them, also the ham was amazing. Overall, we had a wonderful time and will definitely be back. Shaun & Crystie – League City, TX


February 2018

We had a wonderful time here at "The Woods" celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary. Very relaxing with a beautiful view! John & Cheryl – Edna, TX

Had a great three-day weekend! Relaxing, secluded and lots to do in driving range. Also great having home-cooked breakfast. Even slept on the porch a little bit under the stars! Caleb & Naomi


Excellent experience!! Very cozy and view is awesome! Take Care, Phil & Janie


January 2018

Second time here, 1st time in the Woods cabin. Deck is great to relax. New owners very nice. Will return! The Jacksons


The Cabin and property were very clean and quiet. Just what we were looking for. Thank You, William & Candice – Shiner, TX


Thank you, Carl and Rhonda, for the superb hospitality, clean and cozy cabin, stocked fridge full of goodies – ham and fresh eggs and biscuits and fruit were Delicious! This was above all expectations and we look forward to visiting again in the future. Blessings, Andrew & Marissa – Houston, TX