830-456-9326
placeholder
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
placeholder
placeholder
placeholder
placeholder
placeholder
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Guests
Guests (8 & above)
Children (-8)
Pets
Cabin Type
BOOK NOW

The Milky Way Cabin Reviews
-Fredericksburg, Texas-

2023


Our 2nd time at Walnut Canyon Cabins did not disappoint. The beautiful scenery & wildlife are true highlights. Milky Way cabin is so cozy & comfortable as we expected. Thank you for providing breakfast and our special turkey bacon request. Celebrating our 25th anniversary here was the best decision! We will be back, take care & God bless you. Adam & Kelli - Rio Grande Valley, TX

Thank you for a fantastic stay. This was our first time to Texas. We loved being in the countryside surrounded by the amazing views & the wildlife. The Milky Way cabin is so comfortable & has everything you might need. We loved feeding the deer, watching the stars, sunrises & sunsets from the roof top deck & enjoying the hot tub! This has definitely been the highlight of our trip! Sam & John - London, UK

We had a marvelous stay in the Milky Way Cabin. We saw falling stars while we enjoyed the hot tub and at the same time the deer were eating the corn Carl & Rhonda provided to us.  Beautiful sunset & views from the roof top. Excellent breakfast. We enjoyed hiking and sightseeing all around the area. It is a pity we already have to leave. Thanks for all! Joris & Jenine - Greetings from Holland

It's Annular Eclipse Day! Life is too fast & sometimes you need to slow down. Enjoy the flowers, smell the ground, look up at the sky & say thanks for all the things we have & the new friends we met. Thank you Carl & Rhonda. We will return soon. Gabi, Vanessa & Mike - New York City, NY

We came here for our honeymon last year & came back one year later this place is that amazing! We will be back! Mark & Mandie - Omaha, NE

What a special place, full of nature's beauty. Our stay was all we hoped for & more! Gracious hosts indeed. Loved feeding the cows treats - give them another one for me!! Until next time, Irena & Ed - Friendswood, TX

Wonderful stay, we wish we could have been here longer. Really enjoyed the dark sky & the rooftop deck. Very memorable experience & gracious hosts. The deer came out to feed as if on que & feeding the cows treats & watching the chickens was a very fun addition. We'll recommend to friends & family! Bruce & Karen - Minneapolis, MN

Thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven with us! We certainly enjoyed it all ... the deer, the stars, & the hot tub! It was a wonderful excape & can't wait to see what it looks like in the fall! Tammy & John - Huntsville, TX

This is our second time staying here & we enjoyed it just as much as the first time! We really enjoyed Cowboy's company (the horse in the meadow just outside our front door). The hot tub under the stars is awesome!  Mike & Lindsay - Austin, TX

Thank you for this beautiful Milky Way Cabin to fulfill my wish of seeing all the stars. Great stargazing deck & location for those looking for no light pollution. Pat & Eddie

It was our first trip to Texas & you (Rhonda & Carl) and the Milky Way Cabin made it something very special. Thank You! We enjoyed the Alamo Springs Cafe - it was delicious & relaxing. We also enjoyed our visit to the Pioneer Museum in Fredericksburg & Luckenbach had some wonderful country music. We loved the hot tub, feeding Cowboy the horse & throwing corn out for the deer, too! Thanks for all! Ivonne from Hofheim Germany

Once again, we have thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in the Milky Way Cabin. We thank you for the coupon to Wedding Oak Winery. We so enjoyed our time there & had a fun time with the staff. We even saw another couple from Walnut Canyon Cabins! We really like the wine we bought. We'll see you again mid September. Linda & Mike - New Braunfels, TX

Rhonda & Carl, you really have a home most can only dream of! The warm welcome, friendly smiles are what will be remembered longest. We enjoyed our stay, saw the bats, plus many deer & other wildlife. This was a mother-daughter trip & one we will cherish always. Thanks & God Bless! Shellie - Porter, TX & Sheila - Bossier City, LA

Thank you for your hospitality during our stay. You made the wife's birthday weekend a quiet & memorable one. All the extras made things easy & feel like home. May god bless you! Pete & Jeana - LaPorte, TX

The Milky Way Cabins is a special place. Thank you for appointing it so warmly & beautifully. The farm-fresh eggs, canadian bacon, fresh berries & biscuits were a delightful treat each morning. We cherished our time here. The beauty & quiet filled our hearts with peace. We look forward to a return stay soon. Thank you both for your kind & thoughtful hospitality. God bless you! Levi & Sharmila - New Braunfels, TX

We stayed two nights here during our trip through Texas & we loved the peaceful & quiet place in contrast to Dallas, Houston & San Antonio. We enjoyed the hot tub & watching & feeding the deer with the corn you provided. If we get back to the states, we will come back to the Milky Way Cabin, that's for sure! Best Regards, The Sickmanns - Germany

What a joy we had staying at the Milky Way Cabin. Everything was perfect. We cooked steaks on the BBQ Friday night & made homemade chili on Saturday. On Sunday we enjoyed the sunrise from the top deck. The complimentary "cold beverage" you provided upon arrival after a 5 1/2 hour drive really kicked off the beginning of a great weekend! Ron & Barbara - Little Elm, TX

Carl & Rhonda, you have been very gracious hosts. What intrigued me the most when looking for a B&B was the secluded area & the fresh food provided to cook your own breakfast! The star gazing was great as well as the quiet peacefulness. Thank you for telling us about Comfort Pizza - delicious! We had a great time feeding the cows treats! Hope to make it back again soon. Mike & Rachel - West Wisconsin

We absolutely loved the Milky Way Cabin. Thank you for the food provided for breakfast, the canadian bacon was delicious! Even loved the selection of movies provided. The stars at night were definitely big & bright, what an amazing sight to see from the rooftop deck! We will be back. Nathan & Aimee - Houston, TX

Four years ago we got remarried. Yes, so nice we married each other twice! We came here for our long weekend honeymoon back in 2019. Four years later, the experience was just as awesome! Carey & Deana - Mansfield, TX

We absolutely loved our stay at your cozy Milky Way cabin! How much you care about your guests experience is very evident in all the little details, & I don't think I have ever had better hospitality. Thank you for being so kind, welcoming & helpful. We especially loved the star-gazing deck, the hot tub & the farm fresh eggs & local coffee in the morning. Addison & Mason - Dallas, TX


2022


We had a relaxing stay. Super cabin. I now know why this one is called the "Milky Way". The galaxy above us was spectacular. So "black" out here! A nice getaway from home. Paul loved his farm fresh eggs & that canadian bacon from Opa's was delicious, too! Hope to come again. Cindy & Paul - Austin, TX

Where to start? This place is absolutely amazing! Besides y'alls just pure generosity & hospitality, this place is a little piece of heaven, especially for a couple where hubby loves camping & outdoors & wife loves indoor plumbing & showers. What y'all have created here is a beautiful marriage of both! The provided breakfast foods are wonderful & fresh farm eggs - everyone needs to experience that! I'm not saying we fed the cows all the treats, but they were very happy when we came around! Honestly, our stay here was perfect, couldn't have asked for anything more! A perfect place for a newlywed couple to escape after our hustle & bustle wedding & honeymoon! Whatever y'all are doing to keep Walnut Canyon Cabins up & running keep doing it because it is magical! Thank you for everything! Hope to be back soon! Bryana & Dane - New Orleans, LA

Thank you for sharing your home with us. We came on a retreat with 5 other couples. We loved the Milky Way Cabin with the front porch rocker & the rooftop deck. The cabin is cozy & provided everything we needed. Breakfast was wonderful & we loved interacting with the cows/steers. Looking forward to returning.  Michelle & Sal - Houston, TX

We have been to Walnut Canyon Cabins a few times, this is the first time staying in the Milky Way Cabin. We absolutely love it here & can't wait to come back. It's our favorite getaway. You have a special place here! You are the best hosts & we are so thankful to have found Walnut Canyon Cabins. We'll see you soon!! Barbara & Cole

As long-time visitors to FBG, this was our first visit away from the usual B&Bs in town & WE LOVED THE EXPERIENCE! The location is perfect, close enough to town to engage in our usual activities, but far enough away to be a world unto itself - so quiet & private. The late night hot tube soak & a farm-fresh breakfast on the rooftop deck were awesome bonuses. We'll definitely be back! Michael & Tev - San Antonio, TX

This was the perfect weekend getaway. Everything from the farm-fresh eggs to the hot tub under the stars was incredible! The cafe down the road was a great recommendation, we ate there twice! The deer also stopped by one morning to share breakfast with us. Looking forward to our next trip back! Robert & Annie - Houston, TX

We wanted to thank you for being so intentional!!! Loved the fresh eggs, fresh fruit, & delicious Opa's canadian bacon. We had a beautiful view of the sun going down from the hot tub. And thank you for the yummy local coffee!!

We absolutely LOVED our stay in the Milky Way Cabin! We celebrated our 9th anniversary & it was the perfect place to spend a few days together without the kids! But next time, we plan to bring our 3 kids, they will love it! I enjoyed feeding the cows "treats" - it brought me back to childhood feeding & petting my granddad's cows on his ranch! Hope to be back soon. Ryan & Kristen - San Antonio, TX

We had a great time at the Milky Way Cabin! I think I picked the perfect cabin for our Hill Country stay. I just wished I had booked a longer stay. Dan & Linda - Indianola, IL

We had a fabulous time. The Milky Way Cabin exceeded our expectations! We enjoyed the roof top deck & the beautiful stars. The hot tub was also fantastic! Chuck & Daphne

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We celebrated Daniel's birthday. First time here & what a peaceful, romantic cabin & luxurious getaway the Milky Way Cabin is! The farm fresh breakfast was amazing as well. We will be back. Laura & Daniel

Excellent experience all around from booking ease to the departure. Carl & Rhonda are great hosts, very communicative & friendly; welcoming upon arrival. The Milky Way Cabin was great, ultra clean, well stocked, very comfortable & super private. The rooftop deck was awesome. I'm pretty particular about hot tubs too, & the one for this cabin was definitely well maintained. Staying here is an excellent decision if you're looking balance of privacy & being close enough to Fredericksburg. We actually liked fully disconnecting as you may or may not be able to get a cell signal. Michael

Wow, what a retreat you have built here! Your generous & thoughtful amenities you provide are the icing on the cake! I loved feeding the young cows, Ruby & Stoney, & watching the deer every morning - such a delight! Our group rented out your entire property & we all enjoyed it so much. Retreats are hard to find, but you guys do it well. Thanks again. Hobe & Lorrie - Arkansas

Once again we had a wonderful stay in the Milky Way Cabin. We actually did get to see the Milky Way (it wasn't too cloudy) but the best for us was actually seeing Saturn & it's ring so clearly with our telescope. Tonight we'll try to see Jupiter. Thanks for a wonderful visit. Linda & Mike Cyr

Thank you so much for this wonderful stay. From the moment you opened the door when we got here we knew it was going to be great. Every little detail shows how much you care for your guests & want to make this a memorable stay. We loved the Milky Way Cabin & felt all the love you put into it. Stargazing in the hot tub last night was one of the best experiences ever! We hope to make it back someday. Andrea & Steffano - Lima, Peru

Such a beautiful place. So peaceful & lots of birds & deer to watch. Spectacular sunsets, stars & sunrise! We loved it. Henna & Dean

Thank you for an unforgettable few days! We came to get away from the hustle & bustle of everyday & boy were we glad we did. We celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary! We had 4 deer come by for us to feed on the first night (thanx for providing the deer corn) & we had 8 deer show up on the second night. We even saw a fox!! The breakfast was perfection. Farm fresh eggs, canadian bacon, biscuits all made at our leisure prepared us for a day of shopping in Fredericksburg. Stargazing to finish the day off was just what we needed. We had to tear ourselves away from the beautiful view & pleasant night air to go to bed. Thanks again every little touch did not go unnoticed. Oh, & let's not forget the fun of feeding the deer & watching the chickens play! Can't say enough!! We will be coming back. Johnny & Gloria - Andrews, TX

This is our second time visiting Walnut Canyon Cabins & we can't wait to come back for our third time! We loved the Milky Way Cabin. The top deck was perfect for stargazing. Thank you both for letting us hangout & watch the lunar eclipse with y'all & the other guests. Karl & Jordan - Dallas, TX

Best Getaway Ever!!! This cabin is just immaculate! You thought of everything! The breakfast - AMAZING! The views, the tons of deer, birds, hot tub, all were top notch. Mark & Earlene - Von Ormy, TX

An otherworldly experience for my wife & I. The memories made here are the benchmark of new beginnings. This place is magic, indeed!  Until next time - Love & Light, Casey & Analisa

We loved being here so much! The deer - counted 20 of them - approached & ate the kernels we laid out. The Milky Way cabin was gorgeous & the eggs for breakfast were perfect! Our 8 year old daughter had a blast feeding the cows & collecting the eggs from the coop! This place will remain in our memories & hearts for years to come. Love, Christina, Reu & Leah. 

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Milky Way! So happy we were able to stay 3 nights. Allowed us to enjoy your wonderful property without rushing through our days. We loved meeting your newest cow "Stoney" as well as welcoming back your "regulars" for their nightly deer corn. The cool evenings allowed up to sleep with the windows open - something we can't do in central Texas.  Mike & Diana - San Marcos - TX 

What a wonderful time we have had here! Cozy, relaxing & peaceful. The stars & sunrise were beautiful from the rooftop! Beyond Expectations 110%. Daniel & Jaclyn - Georgetown, TX

We absolutely enjoyed our stay and Carl & Rhonda were amazing hosts! The setting was exactly what I was looking for: tranquil, secluded, overlooking the hills/landscape & a hot tub. We take many weekend getaways & this one is in my top fav's for sure! Thanks again! Lyd & Ben

What a cozy romantic place! Me & my husband chose this place four our 195h anniversary & we truly enjoyed our stay! From the quaint accommodations to the stunning scenery, we were not disappointed! Steve & Angie

Thank you for everything this week. It was so peaceful & relaxing to get away from the daily grind. My wife & I enjoyed our stay here & I hope that we can come back again in the future. Omar & Jennifer

We loved our weekend at the Milky Way Cabin! Everything was perfect! I completely fell in love with the ceramic chicken that holds the farm fresh eggs. The hot tub was perfect as was the amazing roof top deck. It was the perfect getaway weekend from the hectic busy life of the city. Thanks so much! Greg & Angie - Fort Worth, TX

I loved the cabin, it was everything I was hoping it would be like. And thank you for getting me out of a tight jam!! Until next time, Mollie

This is the most relaxing & peaceful place ever. Love how the host had everything so clean & cozy. Feeding the deer from the hot tub was so fun. Did not think they would come so close. OMG, I literally had the time of my life. The Alamo Cafe burgers were amazing! The cabin & hot tub plus feeding the deer, was Everything!!! I love how my boyfriend had so much fun here he can't stop talking about it. We will definitely be back! Thank you guys for everything - definitely a trip to remember! Ana

We had a wonderful time. Sally, myself & EJ, our beautiful 7-month old son, enjoyed the area. We put out corn for the deer hoping EJ could get a close encounter. Great hosts! Thank you. Ed, Sally & EJ - Wimberly & Graham, TX

Staying in the Milky Way Cabin at Walnut Canyon Cabins was simply AMAZING. The nicest accommodation I have ever stayed at, & I am saying this after traveling around the globe over 10 times & staying at hundreds of places. The owner was super-nice, the cabin was very tastefully decorated, highly functional, the views on top of the Milky Way Cabin & nature from the roof-top were breathtaking & relaxing in the hot tub in the evening was a very happy surprise. I rarely write reviews, but had to write this one. Thank you! Jurgen - Orlando, FL

Mike & I enjoyed our stay in the Milky Way Cabin. The cabin is nice & cozy & the bed is very comfortable. It's quiet & relaxing, & the scenery is beautiful here. We loved looking at the cows & the chickens. We even admired a herd of deer in front of our cabin. That was very exciting! The breakfast food provided was delicious. Thank you for recommending the Alamo Springs Cafe - it was the best hamburger we ever ate. It's been a pleasure meeting & talking with you. Thank you for all the helpful information. We would love to come back when the weather is warm & we can enjoy more outside. Mike & Tammie - Rayville, LA

Thank you for going above & beyond! This place is AMAZING & we enjoyed every moment out here! My favorite part is the rooftop deck with the spectacular views & sunrises. We celebrated my husband's birthday this weekend & you made it extra special with the had selected bottle of wine & homemade chocolate! They were both exceptional! We look forward to visiting again, longer next time! Cheers to a New Year! Brittany & Josh - Georgetown, TX

This was our first time staying in an Air B&B & you surpassed all of our expectations. Thank you for the warm welcome upon our arrival & the never ending hospitality. The Milky Way cabin gave us the opportunity to get back to nature, stargazing, the farm animals, the deer  & the peace & quiet. So good for our souls. Your attentiveness is much appreciated. We will pass the word to others & we will return in the future. Thank you again! Stacy & David - San Marcos, TX


2021


It is with sheer gratitude we thank you both for sharing your wonderful property with us. This has been the "nightcap" of an 8-day adventure taking us as far west as Arizona. We are departing for the last leg of our journey back to Louisiana. This is a wonderful, magical place. James & Julie - Hammond, LA

We're so thankful to have spent a cool winter night in your cabin. We woke up to a misty morning & your cute rooster letting us know its time to wake up! Myself & my mother could enjoy some quality time in nature & for that I am so grateful. LOVED the no internet! It's been awhile & so thankful to have peace from the outside world!  The quiet was what we signed up for! I told my mom I'd stay longer or forever! Your details in this stay made it extremely special. My mom LOVED it too. We want to come back someday! Thanks for the lovely hot tub & for your friendly adorable cows. Thanks again for having us. Sam & Karen

Carl & Rhonda, We had a wonderful time! The Milky Way Cabin was great along with the bonus of a Texas theme including the work of a local artist. We loved our breakfast - thanks for providing farm-fresh eggs and local canadian bacon. We also enjoyed the time we were able to spend with you. This location was the perfect half-way spot for our families to gather for Thanksgiving and to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. You were the most gracious hosts. Thank you for selling us the Walnut Canyon mugs to remind us of our beautiful stay! Thank You. Craig & Gayla & Sara - Florida

This has been a wonderful experience. I've never seen so many stars. Breakfast was great! We loved seeing Cowboy outside our cabin, he made us feel safe and the hot tub was AWESOME. This place was the bee's knees - buzz buzz.  We hope to be back again. Ayla & Miguel

This was our 2nd stay at Walnut Canyon Cabins. We saw lightning, it was amazing & so was the star gazing. The sunrise was very beautiful while drinking coffee on the porch. We had a great time with the animals especially watching the deer. We came to celebrate our 21st anniversary & spend quality time together since we haven't been able to much due to work. We will be back here time & time again & we are looking forward to sharing this place with our family. Thanks for another great experience - be back soon. Nick & Earlena - Fort Worth, TX

We will come again! Loved how close it was to Fredericksburg & Luckenbach. Driving the country roads is a wonderful experience. My favorite part of staying here was interacting with Cowboy & feeding the beautiful cows. I have never given a treat to a horse or a cow & that was a wonderful experience for me! Linda & Mike - New Braunfels, TX

Outstanding experience at Walnut Canyon Cabins. We felt we truly embraced the Hill Country with a stay here. It is such a beautiful area & having the treat of interacting with deer, a horse, cows & chickens certainly added a whole new dimension. The Milky Way was perfect & so well stocked to meet all our needs. What a spectacular way to spend a few days away from the hectic pace of big city life. Thanks for sharing your little slice of Texas heaven with us. Donna & Philip - Houston, TX

We want to thank you for another great stay on your beautiful property. You made us feel welcome & the breakfast items were tasty. This was our 2nd stay & we will be back for a 3rd!! We actually heard the winds of a bird as it flew overhead it was so quiet. Amazing! Kelly & Marty

Loved the stay, loved the Milky Way Cabin, loved the deer & the stars! Great way to celebrate our 40th. The special wine glasses sitting out to greet us were the perfect touch. You've done not just good ~ but Great! Thank You. Forgot to mention the breakfast foods were perfect & the coffee ~Fantastic! Judy & Craig - Midland, TX

We were looking for a nice adventure to start this labor day weekend off & we got exactly that. This has quickly - even though it's our first time here- become one of our favorite places to visit when we want to "wander where the wifi is weak". You were right - we couldn't wait to unplug! We actually feel more connected than before. The views were amazing, the hot tub was incredible & we're already planning for when we return! Much love, Jerry & Pam - San Antonio, TX

We enjoyed this cabin & the breakfast provided. But the best is the sunrise & sunsets viewing from on top of the cabin. We couldn't ask for a better beginning or end to our days. We plan to be back. Thanks. Barbara & Larry - Ft. Worth, TX

What a blessing to have found you. You are like a small bit of heaven on earth. Your cabins are so thoughtfully appointed, so nice, so comfortable. We needed a respite & you provided it. Farm fresh eggs - & local Canadian bacon treat beyond measure! But the surroundings & the starry, stormy night - this was the perfect getaway. We are telling all our friends! Rhonda & Carl, Thank You, Thank You and again Thank You. Don & Cynthia - Charlottesville, VA

What an amazing stay we had in the Milky Way Cabin. Such a comfortable bed & cozy cabin. Thank you for your hospitality - everything was perfect! We will be back! Ed & Michala

Super cute & comfortable cabin! Enjoyed our stay & especially the leisurely morning breakfast. Beautiful area. We would love to come back. Vicki & Rod - San Marcos, TX formerly Colorado residents.

Everything was great! Breakfast was outstanding. Watching the deer come out & eat in front of the cabin was nice. We even got to see the actual Milky Way! Thanks, Jeff & Valerie - Fulshear, TX

Wonderful! What a great stay! I feel like we were staying in an enchanted cabin! Loved watching the deer come to feed! Thanks for thinking of all the small details that add up to a great experience. Love, Marc & Rhonda

Your place is amazing. My wife & I love to sit & stargaze & this place is perfect for that. We loved the sitting area on the roof. I regret not bringing our telescope. Will do so next time for sure. Thank You. Bill

Thank you so much for a beautiful cabin. We enjoyed the scenery, deer, cardinals, hummingbirds that came to visit. The location is convenient to Fredericksburg (town). We are rested & rejuvenated. Thank you for a well-stocked cabin. Rosie & Ray - San Antonio, TX 

What an awesome time we had here!!! The cabin was way above our expectations & you guys are great people! I am still laughing about the Rooster "Doodle Do"!!! We will be back for sure. Mike & Sharon

Rhonda & Carl, Thanks for another wonderful weekend. We enjoy visiting with you as much as we enjoy the beauty of this cabin. The hot tub is so relaxing! Feeding the cows their "cow treats" was so much fun! We love this place & will be back again! Amy & Paul - New Braunfels, TX

We stayed for 3 nights in the Milky Way Cabin & it was such a great getaway! We loved having our morning coffee in the porch rocker, watching Cowboy the horse & the little birds around him. We had one good clear night for star-gazing & it was amazing. Thank you for recommending William, the Uber Driver. He was great & easy to communicate & coordinate with. Thank you Carl & Rhonda for all the amenities & little touches that make this cabin such a relaxing place to stay! We look forward to coming back! Emilie & Amber - Austin, TX

We were very skeptic about staying in an Air B&B since it was our first time. With that said, we DO NOT regret it. We came for peace & quiet & we got that. Stargazing here was the best thing ever. Friday night the sky had all kinds of action. Thank you for your hospitality, everything was perfect. I see us coming back! Kenny & Leticia

December 2020

What a beautiful cabin. The roof top deck has an amazing view. It was nice to sit on the deck & watch the sun go down with a cup of coffee. Loved the breakfast – the Canadian bacon, fruit & farm-fresh eggs were perfect. Thank you for the much needed vacation away. We will be back & maybe stay at one of the other cabins. Rudy & Celeste – San Antonio, TX


What a nice place, we will be coming back – Thank You! Quiet & cozy. Beautiful views from the top deck. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year. The Thalmann's


We've been to Walnut Canyon Cabins three times before & always stay in the Hideaway. We really enjoyed the Milky Way Cabin! This was Terry's 50th birthday. Seeing the stars from the upper deck & all the deer in the meadow out front was beautiful! We always love being here & can't wait to come back! Thank you for thinking of everything we could need during our stay! Terry & Leslie



November 2020

Thank you for sharing your little piece of Texas "heaven" with us! We loved the cozy cabin. The local provisions for breakfast were delicious! We chose the Milky Way for the upper deck & it was incredible. We star-gazed from the hot tub & the deck & t did not disappoint. This was a perfect getaway, look forward to coming back soon! The deer outside the porch were great! Bill & Diane

I am so glad I found this place. This place is like heaven. We loved watching the deer while sitting on the rocker on the front porch. The hot tub felt so nice in the cold, crisp night. Every night we had 8-10 deer in the front meadow. It was amazing. We are here on our honeymoon & decided that for our anniversary we will stay right here again, so see you next year! Tommy & Cora

We had a great time at your Milky Way cabin. It was so cozy & comfy. We enjoyed our breakfast a lot. The night sky with the beautiful stars was amazing!!! Our 6 yr-old had a nice time also. Thank you so much. Vimal & Family

We can see where the cabin gets it's name. The "MILKY WAY" cabin was awesome! We have not seen such stars like last night!! Simply AWESOME. Deer feeding in front of us included – no extra charge! Yes, the Milky Way was out of site! Here to celebrate our 27th anniversary. We have our own Cabin/Farm in the woods in East Texas but always enjoy coming to the Hill Country. Reminded us of Rough River, Oregon. We were fascinated with the deer & watching their beautiful eyes as they stared at us. The foliage was beginning to change with some brilliant yellows & oranges. Driving along the countryside viewing the goats, sheep, llamas, cattle & horses kept us captivated. Four nights was just not enough in the quiet. Jeff & Joyce – Grand Prairie, TX



October 2020

We had a wonderful time. We usually stay in town but decided to take a chance this time & we thoroughly enjoyed being out here. Thank you so much! Garrett & Katharine


Thank you so much for your generosity. We enjoyed our stay & loved the view from the Milky Way top deck, as well as the luxuries of the hot tub, the glorious scenery, & the cleanliness. It was very relaxing & we will recommend your cabins to friends & family. Thanks so much for your hospitality. Bonnie & Clyde aka The Davis's


Although I only stayed one night, it was AMAZING. Y'all's hospitality is out of this world & gives true meaning of what being a Texan is all about. The stars at night were one of my favorite things here, you don't see that a lot nowadays due to light pollution. Thank y'all for everything & I hope to be back real, real soon! James S


We came to this cabin as a little trip with my family. The night sky was the first time I was able to see the stars shine so bright. The Milky Way made this experience the most memorable in my opinion. I loved feeding your cows, this was the first time seeing cows up close & personal & they did not disappoint, they were so adorable. The Crispin Family


September 2020

We celebrated our 20th Anniversary here & couldn't think of a more wonderful experience. Much gratitude for your hospitality. Being off the grid was exactly what we needed. You haven't seen the last of us! Robert & Kelly


Thank you so much for your generous hospitality. We got married on Sept 26, so this was a little honeymoon for us. Thank you for the beautiful roses, delicious house-made chocolates & the bubbly drink. The breakfast provided was amazing! The overall atmosphere was perfect & peaceful. We definitely look forward to coming back again ... we loved it! The Larsons


Thank you for your hospitality. Clean cabins, fresh food, relaxing environment. I couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon destination. See you in a year! Sincerely, Lynn & Stephanie

With all of our gratitude we truly enjoyed ourselves. So peaceful & what a way to enjoy the wife's birthday! God Bless. Rick & Tasha – Jarrell, TX


Thank you very much for your hospitality. The Milky Way cabin is wonderful & cozy & we couldn't ask for a more peaceful atmosphere during our stay. The extra touches – stocked fridge, deer corn & decor – really enhanced our stay. The location of your cabins is exceptional. It's so calm throughout the property at any time of day or night. Listening to the bleating of the goats provided some great entertainment. Feeding Bonnie & Clyde, the calves, was a great experience as well; as they certainly know they are in for a treat when someone approaches. This was the perfect place to relax & decompress for a weekend away from the hustle & bustle of the city. The stargazing was incredible from the top deck!!! We will definitely visit again! Joshua & Malina – San Antonio, TX


August 2020

We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful hospitality & generosity. This place is amazing – the night sky was breathtaking & such a wonderful break from the city. I am already planning our next trip out – Thank You! Allie, Angelica & Kuimi – San Antonio, TX


These past 2 days have been amazing. My spouse & I decided to take a trip for my birthday. She planned this weekend out. The best birthday weekend I've ever had. We saved up money for the State Fair of Texas, because of the pandemic they cancelled it. So why not take a trip. We'll definitely be back. Y'all are amazing hosts. Love, Samaj & Bill


Better than Valium for this stressed out widow! I shall return, often! You've thought of everything. Cheers, Kat


We really needed to disconnect & getaway from our home that has now turned into our office. Work budget cuts, stress over uncertainty & disappointment of cancelled trips to Europe to see family were really starting to take its toll on us. Two nights of sipping Texas Hill Country wine on the rooftop of the Milky Way cabin has helped us press the reset button. The simple pleasure of watching deer gingerly approach a treat of corn helps put things into perspective. Life is more than just work. We hope the peace we have found here is also found by others who stay. Then let's all carry that back to our day-to-day lives! Take care, Rick & Mary Ann


Where do we begin? First thing would be when we met you & picked up our key. You were very friendly & told us everything we needed to know. Next would be our cabin, The Milky Way, we could not have been happier with our accommodations. Everything was included that we needed & it was so clean! We really loved the deck on top. It was very romantic watching the stars. We also ate our breakfast up there each morning as well! We will definitely make it up here again. It was a great place for us to unwind for the weekend! Many thanks! Brett & Sandy


Thank you so very much for y'alls heart & hospitality. We enjoyed this much needed getaway from the hustle & bustle. It was our first time here & I can assure you it won't be our last. Y'all saw us on the rooftop deck enjoying the wonderful views. The hot tub plus the moon rise was so nice. We saw a 4-pack of deer as we sat on the front porch grilling. We are gonna' tell on y'all of the great place you have & of the hospitality! You two be blessed & we look forward to seeing y'all again! Warmest Regards, Frank & Isabel – Far West San Antonio, TX

July 2020

I recently got engaged to my wonderful boyfriend & he surprised me with this beautiful cabin of yours, as well as flowers, chocolate & wine. It was so romantic. The Milky Way Cabin itself is so pretty & it was amazing to see all the deer outside. Jasmine & Justin

What a great time we had here! We are so glad we found this place to enjoy 2 days of relaxation! Your hospitality was great & we are grateful. We plan to return soon. Thank you for everything. Mike & Christina

Although my wife & my stay here was only a short 2 days, those days were wonderful thanks to y'all. We knew from the photos online that the cabin would be beautiful; however, your hospitality is one thing photos can't show. There isn't a single thing we didn't love about our stay, & we will be back for another without a doubt. Thank you both for being such awesome hosts at such an amazing place – here under the Milky Way! Landon & Sandra

We've had a wonderful stay @ The Milky Way cabin This cabin is perfect! We are from the hill country but got to experience a stress-free stay. We are celebrating our 11th anniversary & Kenneth found the perfect hideaway. The cozy accommodations, the roof-top deck to watch the starry night, the hot tub, the deer & the breakfast all made for a fun stay. Thank you for all the thoughtfulness you put into our mini-vacay. Thank you for having such a wonderful place. We will return & recommend. Until next time, Alana & Kenneth – Hunt, TX

This was our first trip to Walnut Canyon Cabins. It was an awesome stay. Everything was perfect for a weekend to unplug & unwind. Living in the suburbs of Houston doesn't allow the amazing stars at night. We sat on the porch swing at night & watched the deer eat in the meadow in front of the cabin. It was amazing & we will be back! The breakfast was delicious. We didn't want for anything. The only sad part is having to leave this beautiful piece of heaven. God bless, George & Jean

Thank you for being such wonderful hosts & all your hospitality. Thank you for working with us last minute & allowing us to enjoy your beautiful cozy cabin. We loved everything from the fresh breakfast to the beautiful view. We will definitely tell friends about our stay at the Milky Way Cabin & look forward to coming back soon. Aubrey & Lance

Walnut Canyon Cabins is overdue for a name change – it should be "Paradise Canyon" or "Miracle Bluff" . . . you get my meaning. Started the day with a super Hill Country breakfast of farm-fresh eggs & Canadian bacon & biscuits. Fresh roasted local coffee on the porch rocker overlooking 40 miles of sweeping hills. Took a float in the Guadalupe River & returned for the obligatory afternoon nap. Then you wake up & fire up the grill for a hearty dinner just in time for more coffee on the roof-top deck. Watching the earth turning down the sun & raising the mysteries of the star curtain. Actually watched the International Space Station streaking across the sky & finished off with a great movie & awesome rest. Gracias, Rhonda & Carl. Gail & Miguel

Thank you for your hospitality! Everything was great! Loved the view from upstairs. We'll be back next year! The Tzul's Loved this place so much! Our first thought when we walked in was "I wish I could live here". We enjoyed watching the deer eat the corn while we relaxed in the hot tub & laying on the rooftop staring at the stars was the best! Cozy. Thank you Rhonda & Carl, we will tell our friends about this place & return soon. So peaceful. Nikki

Thank you for such a relaxing 22nd birthday! We will definitely be back! Zoey

Our 10th wedding anniversary was in May. Due to Covid-19 we were in lockdown & couldn't come out to celebrate. As soon as we could, we knew we had to come back to Walnut Canyon Cabins. We stayed in the Treehouse in 2014. The Milky Way was our choice this time. We love it here. The view of the canyon is beautiful. We enjoyed feeding the cows. The cabin had everything we needed. We needed to escape to "our cabin" in the woods to unplug & unwind. We will definitely be back. We hope to start making this a yearly (or quarterly) trip. Thank you for the wonderful getaway. Jeremy & Sally – Corpus Christi, TX

We had another wonderful stay at the Milky Way Cabin. It is our favorite cabin here. No special occasion to celebrate – just some much needed time away together. This, as always, is the perfect place for that. We enjoyed our usual places – Luckenbach & Alamo Springs Cafe. They are wonderful always & even more now during this time. I think this was the first time we saw the deer in the front of the cabin & ended up spreading out all the corn left to feed the lovely group of four that stopped by in the evenings. Thank you for providing us a place to come back to & enjoy! Marcie & Jeff

June 2020

Talk about a perfect RESTART! With Covid & everything else going on in the world, this felt like the perfect place to feel at peace. All of the little details made our stay feel so special. Coffee on the front porch or up on the rooftop. The yummy breakfast, the corn for the deer & so on. We have traveled the world together but have never had such a time where we could stop & focus on each other! You both are wonderful & so is this place! The Pozdoll's

Thanks again for a wonderful stay. It was just as we remembered. We said we ould be back, this time for our honeymoon. It was perfect!! You have such a wonderful thing going here. We will tell everyone how sweet it is. Danny & Fil – Dallas, TX

Since the moment we drove in, after getting lost, you so kindly welcomed us. You have a gift – hospitality! Thank you for sharing this little piece of heaven with us. We have no complaints. We give thanks to God for allowing us such a sweet & loving time here in the Milky Way. May the Lord, Jesus Christ, bless the work y'all are doing out here. It feels like we fell in love all over again. Glory to the One on High for such a beautiful & peaceful creation. We shall return, Lord willing of course. Blessings, Andy & Stephanie – The Big 10!

Thank you for the beautiful piece of heaven & sharing it with us. Wonderful hospitality & attention to detail. Thank you for the lovely breakfast. We especially loved going to see the Old Tunnel bats. We had read & heard about it & were excited when we saw it was just down the road! Thanks for a great get-away birthday weekend! Judith & Steve

Thank you so much for your hospitality. We had a great & relaxing time. We enjoyed walking the property & the beautiful view on the rooftop. Looking forward to our next stay. Thanks again, Nikki & Matt


May 2020

We truly appreciate how accommodating you both were during our stay. We had a blast, all thanks to y'all & the Milky Way Cabin. Cody & I could not have asked for a better birthday trip! The both of us have already been planning our next trip here & we cannot wait to see y'all again!!! Thank you both so much & next time we will be bringing friends along. We love the beautiful painting we were able to buy out of the cabin! Love, Cody & Christina


Thank you for an amazing getaway! We came to celebrate our 7th year anniversary & we were not disappointed! We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere & the hiking! Thank you for the awesome breakfast – probably the best Canadian bacon I've ever had! Overall, thank y'all again for everything. We will definitely be coming back! Crystal & Navor 

We came here for David's 23rd birthday & could not have been happier with our experience! Carl & Rhonda, y'all are excellent hosts & we LOVED this perfect cabin. Sitting on the rooftop deck & just looking around & listening to music was perfect. Thank you for the AMAZING banana bread! The deer corn was a nice treat, too. We enjoyed spending time here & will definitely be coming back. We loved hearing about Carl's food truck business & getting recommendations on place to go despite what's going on (social distancing, etc.). Thanks y'all! David & Alissa


April 2020

What an amazing honeymoon getaway. Mario & I both enjoyed the peace & quiet your little haven provided. We will definitely be returning as well as recommending the cabins to all! Thank you for your attention to detail. We will take with us the memories of the birds singing & the beauty of the countryside. Thank you for everything – See you next year. Mr & Mrs. Garcia


March 2020

We had a lot of fun on our mini honeymoon (got married 3/19/20). You have such a beautiful & peaceful place. We also had fun giving the cows treats! Despite what is currently going on in the world (pandemic), you still made an unforgettable experience. Thank you for everything, we can't wait to come back! The Tamayos

Thank you for everything! It was just perfect! We had a wonderful anniversary, & great weather, too! 34 years & counting. Fred & Debi – San Antonio, TX

We had such a relaxing time in your Milky Way cabin! We highly recommend this place for a peaceful getaway! Kaleigh & Joe


Thank you for everything! It was just perfect! We had a wonderful anniversary, & great weather, too! 34 years & counting. Fred & Debi – San Antonio, TX


We had such a relaxing time in your Milky Way cabin! We highly recommend this place for a peaceful getaway! Kaleigh & Joe


February 2020

You have a slice of heaven on earth here. We loved the Milky Way cabin & everything about it. No need for a list of what we liked, Simply Everything! We will definitely be back again & will tell our family & friends all about it. Thanks for everything. Greg & Barbara – Waco, TX


It is always great to return here. This is our 5th time to visit. Accommodations & hospitality are awesome. This is our first stay in the Milky Way. Loved the openness of this cabin as well as the fireplace. Wildlife & Frederickburg were great. Alamo Springs Cafe is a big hit with us. Breakfast in the cabin, always fantastic. Can't wait to return soon! Wish we lived here – so quiet & peaceful. Keith & Bobbi – Waxahachie, TX


We came out to celebrate our first anniversary together! This cabin was the perfect getaway for some relaxation & romance. We really enjoyed feeding the cows & watching for wildlife. It SNOWED while we were in the hot tub on night #2! Such an amazing thing to experience together. We look forward to returning in the future. Oh, & the in-room breakfast items is a fantastic idea – I really like the idea of breakfast at our leisure! Thanks, Tara & Robert


January 2020

Deep in the Heart of Texas – The Milky Way Cabin. This has truly been a birthday weekend I'll never forget! Thank you for the warm greeting & glass of wine! Your warm welcome was a perfect start to our vacation. Thank you for sharing your slice of heaven with us! The Milky Way Cabin was Perfect! The solitude is just what we needed. The cabin was decorated so beautiful! I'm very impressed on the cleanliness & neatness of the cabin ...I'm a clean freak! LOL. We enjoyed walking around, playing horseshoes, loved feeding the cows! The food & complimentary items you provided was perfect! Enjoying the sunrise & sunset on the rooftop deck was amazing. My favorite was reading my book on the rooftop deck & listening to the birds chirp, so peaceful! The hot tub by day & night in this cool weather was perfect – loved the robes! We will highly recommend this property, we just love it! Looking forward to booking another stay! Brandi & Joshua – Orange, TX

Thank you for such a warm welcome! The Milky Way was a perfect relaxation getaway. The bed & the fireplace was amazing! We enjoyed soaking in the hot tub under the stars & managed some great views from the upper deck this morning. Loved seeing all the wildlife, too! We will definitely come back! Say ‘hello' to the cows for us. Thanks again, Diana & Tim

Thank you for such a fun & relaxing weekend! The Milky Way cabin is perfect! Super cute & super clean. We are already planning our next trip. We will definitely tell others. Thank You. The Hunters

This cabin is Sooooo peaceful! I wished I could live here! That's our first thought when we walked in. ..."Can we just live here." Loved the star gazing deck on the roof. We came on a cloudy, rainy day but it was still amazing to watch the clouds roll in & swallow the green hills. The hot tub was so great during the chilly night. We will tell ALL our friends & family to visit here. Best place to come visit in the Hill Country. A true gem of a property – next time we will stay longer. Amazing hospitality!!! We will be back sooner than later. This is the best place we have ever stayed! Delicious breakfast! Thank y'all! Dawn & Alejandro

This was our first among hopefully many stays to come. The Milky Way Cabin was perfect. Truly enjoyed the sunset on the roof deck. Breakfast was amazing! We truly enjoyed the hospitality provided by Carl & Rhonda. We will return! Enjoy this slice of serenity! Thank Y'all! Elliot & Chelsea – Corpus Christi, TX


Well, not the "U's" time in San Antonio (Alamo Bowl). But Carl's sweatpants with team colors told us you were hoping! Great idea on Alamo Springs Cafe. (Awesome feed). On another foodie note .... we enjoyed feeding your ‘herd' their morning treats – Like giant puppy dogs!!! The cabin, rooftop lookout, hot tub were all great. Very nice get-a-way. We'll be back. Will & Barb – Go Navy!!!

This is our 3rd stay @ Walnut Canyon Cabins & we are never disappointed! Our stay was cozy & relaxing & just the getaway we needed to ring in the New Year! Thanks so much for checking in on us, even after Utah lost the Alamo Bowl – Hook ‘Em! XOXOXO. Thank you for always making us feel like this is our own Cabin in the Woods. Until next time ... Much love & thanks, Jodie & Justin


December 2019

What a way to end a great year! Lisa & I enjoyed our time here immensely! The cabin was perfect! Your hospitality was even better. We will for sure be back with our motorcycles in the Spring! Have a great winter! Mike & Lisa

We had a lovely cozy Christmas Season getaway. We really enjoyed getting out of Katy, TX into the "middle of nowhere". Eating at Alamo Springs Cafe, shooting stars, the HOT TUB!, armadillo scouting, feeding the cows & campfire! Super clean cabin, luxurious robes, cheery poinsettia & fantastic family movies. Canadian bacon, fresh eggs, & fruit were the best ever! Cabin wall art by Holly Nowak, well-furnished kitchen (thanks for the French Press & flower vase). HOT water, windows that easily opened to let in the fresh air. And last night heard in the canyon a possible? wild hog & deer chases. A marvelous wildlife adventure! Thank you so much, Rhonda & Carl. Have a Merry Christmas, The Zinks – Katy TX


Thank you for such a wonderful place!! This Milky Way Cabin & your beautiful property provided the perfect getaway for our 13th anniversary! Our only regret is that we didn't plan to stay longer. Next trip we will be sure to book a few extra days! See you again. Jeff & Jennifer


November 2019

This was our 2nd time here & everything was just as wonderful as the first time. Watching wildlife, our breakfast items, the experience of this great getaway & last but not least, Carl & Rhonda were great hosts. We will be back! Robert & Patty – Spring, TX

Thank you Carl & Rhonda for everything! From the breakfast treats, the cozy & comfortable cabin, the deer corn, the gasoline (LOL) we borrowed – this weekend trip has been relaxing & fun. Your hospitality is like none other. We look forward to coming back! Jason & Robyn – Katy Prairie, TX

Thank you so much for everything!! My husband brought me to the Milky Way Cabin to celebrate our first year of marriage. The area is beautiful. We felt so welcomed; everything from the incredible breakfast, the incredible view, hanging with the cows & even just cozying up with movies in the cabin. I had an amazing time. You took such care to make sure every part of our experience was covered. I cannot wait to come back! Eric & Stacey

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful place! We love the peace & quiet & getting away from all the chaos of the city. The breakfast items were delicious & accommodations were perfect! We will be returning for sure! Wishing you the best. Mark & Deb – Cypress, TX


October 2019


Carl & Rhonda have a wonderful slice of heaven here. Thank you both for your hospitality! More importantly, thank you for helping me surprise LUCY by arranging the fresh rose petals & candles I brought with us. I asked her to marry me and she said YES! Your time certainly played a big part in something very important & very special for us. Thanks again & we will see you again! Austin & Lucy


Thank you for an amazing getaway! We loved the solitude, yoga & stargazing on the roof-top deck. And the comfortable bed. Looking forward to returning! XOXO, Tim & Olga – Houston, TX


September 2019


What an amazing place y'all have here. Waking up Saturday morning to watch the sun come up on the upper deck was so peaceful, but the best part was getting engaged to my best friend up there, too. This place will always hold a special place in our hearts & we plan on coming back every year. Thank you for the breakfast, it was amazing & for all the wonderful places y'all told us about! Must haves are watching the bats emerge, eating at Alamo Springs Cafe, shopping in town, visiting Luckenbach, but our favorite of all was Bankersmith – great food & awesome music, just a fun place! Thank you both for everything! Seth & Brittany – La Porte, TX


We are frequent flyers of the Walnut Canyon Cabins & as always we have enjoyed our stay. This is the first time staying in the Milky Way cabin & we enjoyed the roof-top & the hot tub! Thank you for the chocolate, it was delicious! We have been coming here for many years to celebrate our anniversary. This year we celebrate our 32nd. You are very kind and hospitable, especially being new owners!!! Thank you for everything! Johnny & Kathy – New Berlin, TX


Thank you for being such wonderful hosts & all your hospitality. Thank you for such an enjoyable & relaxing stay. We enjoyed the observation deck, seeing all the stars & the peaceful quiet. We will be back & tell our friends & family what a wonderful time we had. You got such a good thing here! Thanks so much & see you again soon!! Danny & Fil – Dallas, TX


August 2019


Our first trip together & my first time to the area. Staying in The Milky Way Cabin with the rooftop deck, the wildlife, & Carl & Rhonda's hospitality made it a wonderful weekend. Thank you for everything! Cindy & Stan


The Milky Way Cabin is great to say the least. Carl & Rhonda are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. The sunrise & moon setting early morning was memorable. It's waking up and having coffee with God. The town & people are awesome. We will be back for sure. We are thankful & blessed by God to have been able to experience this. Thanks again, Jennifer & David

We came to this cabin for our babymoon, our last trip before our baby comes. We enjoyed the solace, we were able to reconnect. The rooftop was amazing! On our second night here, we got engaged up on the rooftop – it was so romantic! Carl & Rhonda were the best, so thoughtful. We will definitely come back in the future! Crystal & John – San Antonio, TX


July 2019


Once again, this lovely cabin has exceeded our expectations. Carl & Rhonda, thanks for the awesome banner & flowers! This place is special! No words can describe our time here – AMAZING! Thanks!!! Richard & Mary


Great "get-away" cabin @ the Milky Way! We really enjoyed just relaxing & getting away from life for a minute. The breakfast was great & we so enjoyed the roof top deck. Can't wait to come back. Randy & Stacy – Lubbock, TX


The Milky Way: once again this lovely cabin has exceeded our expectations. Carl & Rhonda, Thanks for the awesome banner & flowers! This place is special! No words can describe our time here but AMAZING! Thanks !!! Richard & Mary


This has been the best weekend my wife & I have had in quite sometime & the time we have spent here has been awesome!! We celebrated our Anniversary. Best place to come to & reconnect. Bernard & Deena – Austin, TX


It was great to get away & reconnect with each other. Fireworks at Lady Bird park were a great tradition. As always, the Alamo Springs Cafe was amazing. We had an unexpectedly good time at the horse races! See you next time. Jeff & Marcie – Austin, TX


June 2019


My husband & I decided to stay here because of the remote location (wanted to get away from DFW as much as possible). The moon was under the horizon & made stargazing out of this world! We could even see the Milky Way. We had breakfast for dinner, which was amazing. We saw a lot of wildlife & watched the bats emerge from the Old Tunnel State Park. Last, but not least, we visited the Elephant Preserve in Stonewall. BEST WEEKEND EVER!! I love Elephants! Ben & Lindsey


Thank you for being such welcoming hosts. I appreciate your hospitality & graciousness. My stay was short but enjoyable, nonetheless. I look forward to returning again someday for another stay. Peace & Blessings, John J. – Georgia
We had a wonderful time at the Milky Way Cabin! The view was wonderful. We look forward to coming back! Thank You. The DeRose's


Thank you for such a wonderful place to disconnect from the busyness of our lives & relax & enjoy each other! Robert & Tracey
We had a wonderful time at the Milky Way Cabin! It was a quick getaway from our very busy lives. Everything was amazing – the details of the fresh eggs, fruit & coffee. Stargazing at the top of the Cabin was definitely the highlight! John & Elizabeth – Texas


May 2019


Stargazers log....My boyfriend & I had an amazing stay. We relaxed, we listened to the birds & had no cell phone service – Thank God! Second night we stargazed for hours & enjoyed the hot tub. Thank you both for the hospitality. We will be back! Scott & Kimberlee – Rosharon, TX


We had a wonderful time here. The Milky Way Cabin is a great place, we love the food, your hospitality was awesome. We could not have had a better holiday. We will be back. Thank you so much. Nina & David


We came here to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. The Milky Way Cabin was an excellent choice because of the views, wildlife viewing, seclusion & breakfast! The observation deck was a great place for coffee in the morning & an excellent place to finish your day with a glass of wine. Thank you Carl & Rhonda for providing a fantastic retreat for our celebration. Scott & Kerry – North Richland Hills, TX


My boyfriend & I were coming to FBG & this was easily the best choice for accommodations. Everything was perfect!! Highly recommend to all our friends & family. The baby cow is so adorable! Christopher & Gregg – Houston, TX


We arrived in the rain, but soon the clouds passed & we were pleased to enjoy the full moon, moon shadows & stars a top The Milky Way! Staying in this cabin was a new experience for us & a pleasurable one! However, we owe our allegiance to The Rocky Top Cabin (our favorite) & plan on many more visits! As we prepare to leave, we leave behind happy memories & our wishes for blessings of peace as well as our love & thankfulness. Don & D – Belton, TX


April 2019


We had another great visit/time. We stayed in the Siesta Cabin last fall & really like both cabins. Guess we will have to try another, on our next visit, & YES we will be back. This trip just enjoyed some R&R quiet time here, which is perfect. Enjoyed the music at Luckenbach & enjoyed the views at Enchanted Rock. Carl & Rhonda, thanks again for a beautiful time, retreat & memories my wife & I will cherish. Oh, Pedernales Winery is awesome! Thanx for ordering the beautiful weather! Catch you next visit. Walt & Karen – Woodlands, TX


We have had the most wonderful few days here at the Milky Way Cabin. The place has been very comfortable & cozy & provided us with some much needed rest. We BBQ'd & stargazed & absolutely loved watching the magnificent wildlife. Can't wait to visit again in the future! Richard & Katy – Portsmouth, United Kingdom


This was our first time to Fredericksburg & Walnut Canyon Cabins! We Loved It & will be back! The peacefulness & tranquility are worth the drive from town. Loved looking at the stars & moon from the upper deck & relaxing in the hot tub. The breakfast was also amazing! This was exactly the getaway we needed! Will & Denise – Burleson, TX


What a beautiful property! What amazing hosts! This cabin was exactly what we needed to unwind & disconnect. It was unusually cold & windy for this time of year but that just meant more snuggling & time for us. I don't want to leave! We will return to these quaint cabins. Hector & Lisa – Houston, TX


As usual, we had a perfect stay in the Milky Way Cabin! Rhonda & Carl are amazing & continue to bring the added magic to this piece of paradise. This was our 3rd stay & with better weather than the first two. We are not ready to return to work & kids but our reservation is up. We are going to move cabins & stay a bit longer! Looking forward to continuing our stay in a new (to us) cabin. Wonderful as always! We'll be back – if we decide to ever leave. Nick & Becky – Tomball, TX


My husband & I celebrated our 3 year wedding anniversary here at the Milky Way Cabin. This being our first time here, I can honestly say that it feels like home away from home. When this cabins was stocked & filled, Rhonda & Carl did not miss a beat. They thought of everything & more than they could have imagined. This cabin was a blessing & it truly even brought my husband & I closer together with no electronics. It was just him & I & the peacefulness. It was beautiful & definitely one of my most memorable & precious times with him. We will definitely be back. God bless you both for an amazing experience! You truly made our dreams come true & exceeded our expectations. Tasha & Eric – P.S. Isaiah 49: 15-16 I will not forget you.


March 2019


My boyfriend booked this cabin for our 5 year anniversary as a surprise for me & we loved it! We cannot wait to come back! The Milky Way cabin was amazing! Thanks for being so nice & helpful throughout our stay. We will be back soon! Victoria & Aaron – Lexington, TX


My husband & I stayed here to celebrate our 5 year anniversary & this was exactly what we were hoping for. The Milky Way Cabin gave us the peace & tranquility to disconnect from the day-to-day & focus on one another. It was a little overcast so we weren't able to see the stars, but that just means we will have to come back again! Thank you for being amazing hosts! Zac & Callye – Houston, TX


WOW, what a relaxing retreat! Our time here was amazing. We enjoyed looking at the moon on the roof-top deck & taking a walk down the road in the cool morning air. Had dinner at Western Edge & heard Mike Blakely play – what an amazing treat! The accommodations are perfect & so comfy. Great selection of movies, too! And breakfast was awesome! Can't wait to come back! Bob & Steph – Round Rock, TX


The Milky Way cabin was the perfect getaway. The stars at night were beautiful & the sunrise in the morning was serene. We appreciated the cleanliness of the cabin & the thoughtfulness that our hosts displayed throughout. Thank you for your hospitality & for the fresh, delicious breakfast items. We'll be back! Stephanie & Ernesto


We spent our spring break here as a gift from my parents. My mom heard about Walnut Canyon Cabins from a co-worker & knew it would be a perfect getaway for us. The weather was a bit ‘icky' but the Cabin was amazing! The breakfast & the hot tub were our favorite parts & the view from the roof was amazing as well. We will definitely be back soon! Ross & Kate


We were in need of a BREAK from "adulting" & our two toddlers & one teenager! We came here to ESCAPE & find that connection to one another that sometimes gets lost in the chores of life. Slept in, made late breakfast – which was so wonderful. Went to town, ate German food, drank Texas wine, cooked rib-eyes on the grill & relaxed in the hot tub while looking at the stars – like a dream. We will miss the peace & quiet of waking up to just us! We will be recharged & ready to face reality & our gremlins back in Tomball TX!

Thank you for such a peaceful getaway. Great coffee on the top deck in the morning is a must, too! Shannon & Sam – Tomball, TX


February 2019


We were looking to stay in Texas this year for our anniversary & found this amazing cabin. I loved everything about this place. Everything from stargazing on the roof to ending the night in the hot tub made this trip extra special. Definitely would come back & next time bring friends. Thank you for thinking of everything. We loved it. Derek & Lorraine – San Antonio, TX


What a treat! This cabin is a slice of heaven! My husband & I needed to get away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life & decided to take a road trip. We ended up at the Milky Way Cabin. This cabin was the perfect pick to sit back, relax & take in the stars. So blessed for the fresh farm eggs, fruit & Opas bacon for breakfast! Thank you for this wonderful experience, we will be back! Aaron & Tara – Copperas Cove, TX


We were looking for a B&B online when Walnut Canyon Cabins showed up. We decided sure, why not! And I'm glad we did. This place was the perfect getaway for our 13th anniversary celebration. It's quiet, quaint & beautiful. The scenery is gorgeous. The cabin was very nice. The breakfast items provided were great. We saw stars & watched a sunrise on the rooftop deck. The hot tub was a great treat after walking around Fredericksburg all day. I've already recommended this place to my Aunt. It was the perfect place for us to escape the busyness of raising 4 kids. We'd love to return sometime. Thank you for sharing this little piece of heaven with us. Brandi & Abel – Windcrest, TX


We found this cabin by doing a google search for ‘unique lodging in Texas'. The Milky Way Cabin was exactly what I was searching for to celebrate my husband's birthday & Valentine's Day. The cabin is beautiful, immaculate & cozy. The views from the rooftop deck are amazing & breathtaking. After exploring at Pedernales Falls, the hot tub was just what we needed! Carl & Rhonda are the most welcoming hosts!!! Everything we needed was there. And Thank You for the Roses & the homemade chocolate decadence. You both made our time here wonderful & we thank you! Darryl & Christine – Channelview, TX


My husband surprised me for my birthday. The Milky Way was so cozy. Great food provided for breakfast! We ate at Alamo Springs, as recommended by our hosts – the burger was so good! We will stay here again – Great Place!!! Mike & Daniele – Aledo, TX


Came down to Texas to visit relatives & explore Texas. We are so happy we found Walnut Canyon Cabins. Carl & Rhonda had us hooked on this place at Hello. We loved starting our day with the lovely breakfast, which they supplied, & ending our day in the hot tub. We are sorry we live so far away but hope to visit here again. We appreciate all Carl & Rhonda did to make this stay special. Sophia & Bob – Berkley, Michigan


It was our first stay at Walnut Canyon Cabins, but not our last! The views are amazing & the wildlife is definitely on display. My husband & I got married on Feb 1 & loved spending our mini honeymoon here. There is nothing we would change about out stay except staying longer! Carey & Deanna


January 2019


The landscape is beautiful, the jacuzzi is toasty & the quiet is delicious! The room is so cozy. We will return to our new secret hideaway very soon. Feels like this cabin was made just for us. Thank you – we added movies like the others. Loved the green eggs & ham! See ya'll soon. Scotty & Reyna – Austin, TX


It has been an absolute treat spending the weekend here. Carl & Rhonda's hospitality is above & beyond! We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to enjoy the lunar eclipse. Stargazing in the hot tub & watching the sunrise on the rooftop was a heart filling joy! Looking forward to our next stay! Allison & Tres – Austin, TX


Thank you for the use of your beautiful cabin. This was a perfect way for us to spend my birthday weekend. Spent some time in Fredericksburg & relaxing here. Really enjoyed the girls (mama cows) in the little front pasture! Very soothing. Must be a wonderful feeling to know how happy y'all have made the folks in this little book. Have a blessed new year. And thank you for the tea, it was chilly this weekend. Guy & Tina – San Antonio, TX


A great birthday getaway! The hot tub was awesome & the stars AMAZING! We will definitely be back. Thank you for a great stay!Esai & Brandon – La Porte, TX


Well, we said we would come back & we did! Our second time in this cabin was just as special as the first. This time we were blessed with good weather – 65 degrees day time highs in January! And clear nights for stargazing. As always, Carl & Rhonda are the best & add to the magic of this sleepy little getaway. Deer were plentiful in the evenings & we enjoyed having a few days to be quiet & set some goals for 2019. The Milky Way Cabin remains one of our favorite spots to hide out. We will be back again. Nick & Becky – Tomball, TX


This was a wonderful way for us to end a stressful year & a relaxing way to begin the new year. We found Walnut Canyon Cabins on the internet when we were looking for some place to get away to rest & relax. I am so happy I booked the Milky Way Cabin. It was more than we could have imagined. Rhonda & Carl are some of the nicest people & they provided us with the most delicious farm fresh eggs, bacon & fresh fruit. On our last night they even provided us with Tums & a Sprite for my upset stomach. Thank You so much! The view from the deck was awesome & I was able to see both a sunset & a sunrise before the rain & freezing temperatures set in. We had a good time walking on the property & we had a few deer show up. This place is heaven on earth & we look forward to when we can come enjoy it again. Pam & Joe – San Antonio, TX


December 2018

As everyone else has said, we just absolutely LOVED our stay here at the Milky Way Cabin! It was a perfect after Christmas getaway for me & my husband. We were shocked at just how stocked the cabin was! Everything was thought of ...bottle opener, candle lighter, make-up remover wipes, I mean just everything. AND we loved the hot tub on our chilly night of 38 degrees. And the electric fireplace was to die for!! We will definitely be back! Hayley & Ryan – Deer Park, TX


This place was a great spot for us to "chill". We came for the hot air balloons in Fredericksburg (which we didn't get to see due to bad weather. But the cabin & deer & birds gave us more than enough to enjoy. Cold weather kept us off the roof – so I guess we'll have to come back for the stars. Thanks for your hospitality – we will be back. Debbie & Mike – Odessa, TX


WOW! Thank you for sharing the Milky Way Cabin with us! The "extras" that were provided made us feel so welcomed! We selected this cabin to get away from it all & we were not disappointed! The stars were so bright & the view from the deck was perfect. Oh, & how can I forget the deer corn – we sprinkled it around & observed several deer! The cabin was so clean & cozy! Thank you again! Tom & Kathy – Beach City, TX


What can I say? Besides that this place is amazing. From the cleanliness to the deer in front of our cabin. Absolutely amazing!! My wife & I stayed only one night, we will certainly be back to enjoy the peacefulness of this place. Carl & Rhonda are insanely cool – It makes a difference!! Thank You! Rick & Mary – Corpus Christi, TX


Great environment to relax, renew & reflect. The stillness of tis location is exactly what we were hoping for. Putting out feed and watching the deer was wonderful. We enjoyed the stars & all that a quiet, country evening has to offer. Thank you for an awesome experience. We look forward to returning & leaving the city behind from time to time. Mr. & Mrs. L. Esqueda, Jr., – San Antonio, TX


My husband was looking for a place for a quiet weekend to "unplug" & we found it here. What an amazing place! Everything was perfect from the warm welcome from Carl & Rhonda to the sunrise today. Stargazing from the rooftop was breathtaking! You made us feel so welcome. It was like meeting old friends. We will be back! Amy & Paul, New Braunfels, TX


My wife booked the Milky Way cabin for a fun & relaxing birthday getaway. Everything about this place has been wonderful – from the views to the little details inside that Carl & Rhonda have thoughtfully prepared. We will certainly be back the next time we need a break from our busy lives. Many thanks, Nick & Amanda – Austin, TX


November 2018

Very relaxing time. Wonderful sunrise view from the roof deck. Carl & Rhonda really went out of their way to make our stay special. Super couple! Super place! Steven & Sandra


Thank you for such a wonderful Thanksgiving. We loved the bonfire & spirits. The Milky Way Cabin was a lovely home for our stay. We will be back! Sierra, Gordy, Alex & Cochy – Austin, TX & Salt Lake City, Utah


We had a wonderful weekend. This place is truly amazing! It was our first time staying here & rest assured it will not be our last. Everything was absolutely perfect. Thank you for being fantastic hosts. Looking forward to sharing another glass of wine with you guys. Charlie & Laura


What a great place! We were so pleased with the cabin! We really enjoyed seeing all the deer & the deer corn you gave us worked like a charm. Thank you for allowing us to enjoy a piece of heaven! Amber & Brian – Rowlett, TX


I can't say anything that hasn't already been said! This place is absolutely fantastic! We came for a weekend anniversary getaway & The Milky Way cabin was perfect. We loved the rooftop stargazing. We were so relaxed & peaceful that we actually fell asleep up there! All of the extra touches did not go unnoticed. We loved our stay! Dave & Nikki


October 2018

For our 41st anniversary we chose to stay in a place with nature & peace & quiet. The Milky Way was perfect. It felt like home away from home. Thoughtful goodies in the frig – fresh coffee – little extras that make you feel like family. We loved the rooftop deck & all the beautiful views. We had morning coffee on the front porch rocker & before we knew it over an hour had past. We love this cabin & will have it on our list of favorite places to run & hide. Stan & Janice – Hobbs, NM


Walnut Canyon Cabins & the Milky Way cabin in particular was exactly the place we were looking for to celebrate my husband's 50th. We thoroughly enjoyed the peace & quiet & the gorgeous views from the roof-top deck. Away from the hustle & bustle of the city life we live every day, these past few days of relaxation and exploration were just what the doctor ordered. And a special ‘THANK YOU' to Carl & Rhonda for making my husband's b-day extra special by making your absolutely delicious chocolate decadence & making sure our special order of Armagnac made it to our cabin. We loved our time so much we may buy some land & be your neighbors some day! God bless & enjoy your time here. Love, Tim & Tiffany – Houston, TX


This is an amazing place for our romantic anniversary, it was full of peace and relaxation. We enjoyed every minute that we spent here, from the sunrises to the sunsets, feeding the deer & just sitting on the porch. We look forward to coming back & bringing family & friends. Carl & Rhonda are the most wonderful & warmest people we have ever met. We are highly impressed! Ernest & Marissa – Chappell Hill, TX


September 2018

This was the most relaxing few days we have had in years! We were greeted with warmth, positive energy & 2 cold beers – who could ask for more! Well, we definitely got more – we were able to borrow a six-pack to keep from driving back to town. That's hospitality! Not to mention the delicious farm fresh eggs, local fruit & canadian bacon, plus biscuits with honey and jam! The cabin was perfect & immaculate. We loved that we were unable to fight over the TV remote & instead watched a gorgeous sunrise while listening to roosters & gazed at the stars in the evening. The hot tub was amazing & such a nice way to wind down. We are going to make this a yearly trip – it was the best birthdays we've had in a long time! Mary & James – San Angelo, TX


While searching for a romantic getaway we came across Walnut Canyon Cabins. We stayed in the Milky Way and our experience here was even more amazing than we could have expected! The cabin was simply beautiful & had absolutely everything we needed. The scenery is amazing especially when sitting on the rooftop & watching the sun go down. Carl & Rhonda are truly amazing and very hospitable! My husband and I loved it here & will most definitely be back! Adrianna & Severo – Stockdale, TX


We spent our 1-year anniversary here. This is honestly the most relaxing & beautiful place we've ever stayed. We loved this cabin so much we never even left to go into town. Carl & Rhonda are amazing – very friendly & attentive. They provided us with everything we needed. We have a baby girl on the way & this was the perfect getaway before she arrives. Thank you for providing such a magical place to retreat from the real world! We will "most def" be back! Nathan & Crystal – San Angelo, TX


We had a wonderful stay here in the Milky Way despite nearly constant rain. Rhonda & Carl are awesome and really add to what make this place special! We saw plenty of deer and with a break in the rain, plentiful stars. It was worth the wait. This was exactly what we needed. A break from everything else. Wish we could stay longer, but we have to let others enjoy as much as we have. We will be back! Nick & Becky – Tomball, TX


We had such an amazing time in the Milky Way Cabin! This is our second time visiting the cabins but our first time in the Milky way Cabin and it was absolutely wonderful. We loved the rooftop deck for breakfast in the mornings & for watching the stars at night – such a great view compared to what we see in Houston! Thanks for the amazing weekend getaway! Charlie & Kaitlin – Houston, TX


August 2018

Thank you so much for your hospitality! The cabin was perfect! We had a GREAT time! We will be back again! Tobi & Clint
Great stay. We'll be back! Kevin & Mary


Thank you for thinking of all the details that have made out stay here at the cabin so enjoyable!! We look forward to returning here in years to come. Blessings, Jason & Michelle – Allen, TX


Our stay at Walnut Canyon Cabins was great! The Milky way was beautiful, clean, quaint & quiet. Carl & Rhonda thought of everything to make our stay pleasant. Their hospitality touched us. They invited us into their home & over glasses of wine we got to know each other a bit. They are very warm, nice people. At the Milky Way we enjoyed all the wildlife, views, solitude, sunrises, sunsets & stargazing. The hot tub was nice & relaxing. We loved sitting on the porch swing in the morning & feeding the deer. In all, we had a fabulous time & will leave here feeling refreshed! & we will definitely be back! Bryan & Helen – Houston, TX


This is an awesome place to stay away from busy life. Carl & Rhonda keep a great & lovely place. We will be coming back to stay again. It's quiet & cozy & tucked away with lots of privacy. David & Edna – RGV, TX


June 2018

What a great little hideaway tucked in the Hill Country! We enjoyed checking out of our busy life, checking out the stars & soaking in the hot tub. Everything was perfect and we WILL be coming back. Carl & Rhonda are lovely people. Take their advice on Alamo Springs Cafe & The Black Pig Diner. Oh, and wander down to the Old Tunnel to watch the bats. Enjoy – we did! Eric & Shae – San Antonio, TX


Happy Father's Day Carl and Rhonda, We love everything about this cabin! The details make it very special. The breakfast was phenomenal. The deck we enjoyed watching the rain come in. Enjoyed sitting on the rocker sipping coffee. We have been married 23 years and this is the best trip we have had. The hot tub was awesome! We will see y'all soon when we come stay in "our" cabin. Martin & Roseanne – Glen Rose, TX


May 2018

What a lovely cabin! Love the rooftop to watch the beautiful Texas sunsets & sunrises. How awesome to find that Carl and Russ were working in Jackson Hole at the same time. Carl enjoyed Russ's music and Russ enjoyed Carl's Cinnamon Rolls. Enjoyed dinner with y'all at the cafe & watching the bats! God Bless you both. Russ & Jac – Houston, TX


We had a great time at the Milky Way celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary! Carl & Rhonda you have thought of everything we could possibly need. We loved all the care & attention you put into the cabin. Can't wait to come back! Jason & Christa – Arlington, TX


April 2018

Just to get away we chose to return to Walnut Canyon Cabins and stayed at the Milky Way. It was a good choice. Rhonda & Carl, your hospitality is outstanding. The breakfast choices were great. We only made it to Fredericksburg the evening we arrived. The rest of the time was spent enjoying the quiet and peace that can only come from enjoying God's gifts in the country. We will be back again and will have trouble picking a cabin. Thanks for removing the cowhide rug. Norman & Joan – The Woodlands, TX


We had the best time! The cabin was all we could have imagined & more! We came to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and it was wonderful. Carl & Rhonda were so sweet and hospitable, the views were amazing, and we even saw a shooting star from the balcony! We will be back! Thank you so much! Amanda & Adam – Leander, TX


We came to WCC for a peaceful getaway before the birth of our second child. After having stayed in Fredericksburg proper several times in the past, we were looking for something a bit quieter and more secluded. WCC did not disappoint, and we can't wait for our next visit. It was unseasonably cold, wet and cloudy during our stay so we did not get to take advantage of the "roost", but the cabin was cozy and the surrounding countryside serene. Thank you Rhonda and Carl, we shall meet again!! Sean & Michelle – Austin, TX


March 2018

As our stay comes to a close, I can honestly say we are leaving richer than when we arrived. We've gained so many memories of gorgeous views, moments observing wildlife, laughter with three generations of our family and delicious fresh eggs, scrumptious berries, and divine canadian bacon. I appreciated the opportunity to let life slow down, put down the phone and computer and enjoy the quietness. We're looking forward to our next visit to make more memories. We appreciate everything! Richard & Tina


We found these cabins on the internet while looking for a quiet, relaxing retreat to stay while visiting the Hill Country. Walnut Canyon Cabins was better than we expected. The Milky Way Cabin was so quiet and secluded that we slept like logs! As the darkness fell, the sky was a brilliant display of stars and planets. The sunrises and sunsets are awesome. Carl and Rhonda treat you like family and are always there for whatever you may need. Our 5 days here will always remain in our memory. Many thanks, Carl and Rhonda. Richard & Sarah – Baton Rouge, LA


My husband wanted to stay in a nice cabin for his 50th birthday. I am so happy he found this place on the internet. The cabin was everything you promised. We had a great time. The hot tub was a great new addition. We will be back when we can stay longer. Rickey & Monica – Glen Rose, TX


For spring break we wanted to stay somewhere secluded with a nice view and Walnut Canyon Cabins had the whole package! The cabin was super clean when we arrived & the Rubadue's gave us everything we needed in order to have a comfortable stay. Carl & Rhonda were incredibly kind & hospitable; we'll definitely come again! Kyle & Kassandra


For spring break my husband chose Walnut Canyon Cabins and we Loved It! It was what we expected and then some, the cabin, the farm fresh eggs and all the little touches. The sunrise and sunsets were our favorites. It was Beautiful. We will be back for sure, can't wait! Robert & Patty – Spring, TX


For our honeymoon we chose Walnut Canyon Cabins. She had never seen the Hill Country. This was possibly the most PERFECT way for me to introduce her. It is so peaceful and quiet here. Carl and Rhonda thought of everything. Try the hot tub. It's wonderful. Even when it's 45 degrees out. If you haven't already, you should meet Carl and Rhonda. They are awesome folks. We will be back. We continued the recent tradition of adding a movie! Sincerely, Philip & Brook – The Newlyweds


February 2018

Peace & quiet That is what we were looking for when we got here. And that's what we found! Beautiful surroundings. A perfectly set up cabin. And an amazing tower for stargazing! A most wonderful getaway weekend! We will most certainly return – and tell our friends about Walnut Canyon Cabins. Thank You. Bob & Linda

This was our first time at walnut Canyon Cabins and it was Great! The Milky Way was perfect for us. We will definitely be back! We got to relax, watch movies, and star-gaze. Thank you for such a great experience. Mariana & Beto – Boerne, TX


January 2018

This is our 3rd stay at Walnut Canyon Cabins and our first at the Milky Way. It is always a pleasure getting to stay here and the hospitality that Carl and Rhonda provide is amazing! It is always a nice treat to get away from the city lights and enjoy looking up at the stars from the roof top. Thank you again for another wonderful stay. Josh & Brittny – Waller, TX